Reader Responses

I live in a small town and so it isn’t unusual to meet people you know at the polls when you go to vote. Outside of general greetings, I had several people stop me to talk about Loving Hannah. The response was positive and one person thanked me for sharing my story. Another woman joined the conversation and they discussed how much of a “page turner” the book was, even though they knew the outcome.

The third person who stopped me to talk said she didn’t know how to say what she wanted to say about my book without it seeming like a backhanded complement. “Your book was so well written. I don’t mean this in a bad way, but it was so much better than I expected. You are an amazing writer. I was so impressed with the story and your ability to tell it.”

Perhaps I take comments like these (she’s not the first) as a compliment because this is the first book I’ve published. To be told you work is good feels great. To have people be surprised by that is a compliment of the different sort. I wonder if other writers have experienced this same thing in their home towns. It certainly motivates me to continue my writing.

I will be presenting my program When Casseroles Aren’t Enough along with readings from Loving Hannah at the Dover United Methodist Church on January 11, 2012 at 7 PM. It gives me great joy to give something back to the community and continue to spread the word about childhood cancer treatment.

This entry was posted in Book Related Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

